The four Ashramas are orders or stages of life. They are Brahmacharya (Youth/Bachelor – dedicated towards education and development of strong values), Grihastha (Householders – maintaining a good, happy family and being a good example for children and society), Vanaprastha (Retirement – having completed one’s duties, taking to contemplation, guidance and peaceful activities), and Sannyasa (Renunciation – giving up attachment to worldly, material desires to achieve oneness of the soul with the supreme being).